Skip to content
11/30/2011 / Dom

excuses.

How often do you find yourself making excuses?

I find myself doing it all the time. It is habitual, at least it seems to be for me.

I have a task that needs to get done I never seem to jump to doing it right away. I love to procrastinate, to think of something better to do. To not finish a project or not meet a deadline. Those things happen and I can come up with reason after reason about why I became distracted, why I didn’t finish the job I started. Reasons I always called them. My Dad always called them excuses.

I think he was closer to the truth.

All these reasons, these excuses were so rehearsed, so planned that I began to believe them. I bought into them until they were the reality and I wasn’t able to see past them. Was it out of guilt that I bought in so hard? So I may be able to live with the fact I failed? Maybe. I think It was just impossible to think in terms of failure.

Sometimes we need to realize those failures to get up and move forward. And the one thing that I have realized is that I can choose what to buy. I can buy the lies I tell myself  about not being able to finish or I can fight to the goal and not let my own head get in the way.

Attitude is everything. Focusing on the “how” will always get you further than dwelling on the “why not”

 

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Adam Arocho / Nov 30 2011 9:26 am

    Check out this video. I always watch this when I am struggling with excuses. Try not to read the video caption first. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=obdd31Q9PqA

    ~Adam

Leave a comment