Skip to content
06/28/2011 / Dom

the struggle.

I was having breakfast at Wolfgang’s a few Sundays ago and having a discussion about faith and life. My friend said something that struck a chord with me. She said, “You and I, Dominick, we love the struggle.”

Yes, I do.

Thinking back to the past 23 years of my life I realize there are few times where I have just taken an issue and accepted it. Especially when the issue is a wrong or a problem in the world, I am not able to just accept and turn on auto pilot. My mind will not allow for me to be fed the “right” answer, I have to figure things out for myself. To stumble, struggle, wrestle with the truth to find out what it actually is.

Now this is not something for everyone, not all people are built this way. There is nothing wrong with being easier to accept, God has made us all different ways. What I am saying is that I love the struggle and I need it to come to the answers I feel are my own. I know there are issues that are black and white, some things are cut and dry and I am not trying to question those things. What I am trying to do is take the grey area in the middle and stand there, get dirty, and figure out the best answer to the questions posed. I am trying to pose questions to continually grow.

The more you work, struggle and fight against the preconceived notions the stronger you get. There are things I have been through, times of my life that sucked and were hard, but I would not give those up for anything. I am a stronger, smarter person because of that. I had to struggle, I needed to experience the struggle.

I am never going to be done wrestling, struggling or fighting. I will always have something that is going to be requiring my attention because I am not going to be one to atrophy and grow lazy. Nor do I want to be the one who builds up walls to keep other people out. I am ever-growing.

Ever learning.

Ever struggling.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Tammy F. / Jun 28 2011 9:33 pm

    Just don’t let it keep you from accepting God’s will and God’s peace. Too many find themselves struggling against the wrong things or for the sake of the struggle itslef.:)

  2. Dominick / Jun 28 2011 9:45 pm

    Thanks for the comment Aunt Tammy. And thanks for the reminder, I know it is easy to fight for the sake of fighting and that is not what I am doing. I am fighting for the truth you don’t get from resting.

  3. Chris Barber / Jun 29 2011 1:10 am

    “The more you work, struggle and fight against the preconceived notions the stronger you get”

    How much do we as humans preconceive? If we keep struggling to find truth, we might take solace in the journey. Understanding there are more questions then answers, and more grey, than black and white.

  4. Chelsea / Jul 6 2011 11:56 am

    Thank God for the struggle, and for those who do.

  5. Miranda P. / Jul 7 2011 8:38 pm

    You worded this perfectly. I am one of those kind of people that loves the struggle too. It keeps me humble and it brings me closer to God.

  6. izzy63 / Jul 14 2011 11:03 am

    Very raw. Very good. I can certainly appreciate that this would give you some very particular strengths (a concept affirmed by the fact that I know you), but I’m curious as to how you see this aspect of you. Do you think there’s a downside? Does this induce specialization in your talents? How do you avoid that?

    I’m loving the writing, bro. Keep it coming.

Leave a comment